Results Crosskeys 2010

The 39th Annual Greater Gwent Youth Brass Band Festival took place at Cross Keys on the weekend and attracted a very good entry of 16 bands.

The Festival was organised by the Gwent Music Support Service and attracted bands from each of the local authorities as well as from over the River Severn.


Certificates were presented to each band as well as trophies and prizes to the winners in all sections.

The Festival was compered by David Hayward and Andrew Jones, whilst the judges were Nigel Seaman and Richard Evans.

Both adjudicators were very impressed with both the presentation and high standard of playing of the bands throughout the day.


Section 3: 1. Cwmtawe Training (R. Morris) 2. Newport Borough Training (K. James)

The winning programme of Cwmtawe Training included the 'Floral Dance', 'The Lion Sleeps Tonight' and 'Shaker Song'.

Youngest Player: Megan Pollock (Newport Borough Training) Best Soloist: Ffion Morris - cornet (Cwmtawe Training Band)

Section 2: 1. Caerleon Comprehensive School (D. Griffiths) 2. Cwmtawe District Youth (W. Pedrick) 3. Pembrokeshire Youth (G. Showell)

The winning programme of Caerleon Comprehensive School included 'Gonna Fly Now', 'The Magic of the Beatles' and 'Huapango Express'.

Highest Placed Gwent Band: Blaenavon Town Junior Band (E.Smith) Youngest Player: Kieran Knight (Blaenavon Town Junior) Best Soloist: Osian Davies - trombone (North Powys Youth)

Section 1: 1. Flowers Youth (T. Davoren) 2. Lydbrook Youth (R. Morgan MBE) 3. Usk Youth (J. Jones)

The winning programme of Flowers Youth included, 'Get up! Go!', 'One of the Best', 'Share my Yolk', 'Crazy Little Thing called Love' and the last movement from Paul Lovatt-Cooper’s 'Dream Catchers'.

Section 1 Awards of Merit for Gwent Bands: 1. Abergavenny Borough Youth (G. Ritter) 2. Rogerstone Junior (D. Blakemore)

Youngest Player: Daniel Richards (Abergavenny Borough) Best Soloist: Ben Stratford - baritone (Lydbrook Youth) The Ev-entz Percussion Section Award: Lydbrook Youth

The Con Buckley Memorial Trophy, presented to a conductor who has been active in enthusing young players and in forging links with the local community, was presented to Gareth Ritter of Abergavenny Borough Youth.

The date of next year’s Festival will be Saturday 29th January 2011.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic